Down and Dirty – a photo gallery of food

I’m obviously way behind in posting pictures and recipes. And I want to write about the two church services offered today. Neither of which I was able to attend. And I want to complain about something. But the services and complaining will have to wait for another post. For now, here’s some yummy Lenten food (warning: some of these photos may depict non-Lenten items, for instance, meat I have served to my family while I eat the Lenten part of the meal).

this was lunch the other day. julienned (I used a mandoline) carrots, beets, zucchini, yellow squash and onion, mixed with hummous and topped with alfalfa sprouts, spread onto a slab of focaccia. This is the stuff baby! BTW, today, I julienned the same veggies, plus cukes and lettuce, and mixed it with half a mashed avocado. And spread it onto an olive roll. Mmmmmmmmmmm.

 here it is.

this is tonight’s dinner. the thing at the bottom is tandoori chicken. then to the left is a rice cake. basically riz b’sha’rii pan-fried like a pancake. The veggies are onion and garlic fried with cumin, cayenne and mustard seed, then baked potato chunks, squash and zucchini are added and when almost done, cherry tomatoes cut in half are added with a little water to steam it all. sauteed snow peas are in the middle. it was very good.

 fried cauliflower with tahini, beets and barley salad with grapes, ginger and lime vinaigrette.

This is tempura I ate when Peter took me to dinner the night of the Feast of Annunciation. Fish is permitted that evening, so we went out for some sushi. I’m unclear about whether or not you get to eat fish if you don’t make it to church. Clearly, I went ahead and ate fish, despite my ambivalence.

. . . .and here’s the fish. Pretty, ain’t it.

This is MY idea of a Happy Meal! rolled grape leaves, sauteed cabbage, hummous and baba ganoush.

cool tray, huh?!? refried bean tacos, tater tots, applesauce and salad with a cranberry/lime seltzer.

My kind of breakfast. The little jumble at the bottom is last night’s fried kusa and batinjan, aka, squash and eggplant. Served with aitoon, aka black, oil-cured olives and hummous, of course.

fancy vegan frosting! on top of a vegan chocolate-chocolate chip cupcake.

As you can clearly see, I have been eating well!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Meals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Down and Dirty – a photo gallery of food

  1. bonfood says:

    THANKS FOR YOUR FOOD GALLERY! – I was just in the process of posting something similar. 🙂

    • Leila says:

      oh cool, I’ll check it out! Since I can’t eat all the food, everywhere, it’s great to see the good food other people get to eat!

    • Leila says:

      Just looked at your delicious food. And it DOES look delicious! We’ve been fortunate, here in Portland, Oregon to avoid natural disasters so far, but of course, they are inevitable. Reading your post gives me a very personal perspective of what it is like to survive and live in a situation like yours. My best to you and your family.

  2. goblinbox says:

    +1 for tacos with tater tots

Leave a Reply

