Weekly menu for the week of April 17th through the 23rd

We ate Palm Sunday lunch yesterday, and I thought nobody would want dinner (lunch was HEARTY!), and we would all fend (which basically means, bowl of cereal, pb & j, everyone eats whatever they feel like). But Vini and Joey were hungry. So Vini went to Popeye’s. I ate some popcorn shrimp.

So, what about the rest of the week? Well, I’m not sure whether or not you’ve seen my pattern, but in case you haven’t, here it is:

  • Sunday – Syrian food (which I’d eat almost every day, had I married a Syrian rather than Italian man).
  • Monday – meat or fish for the family, grain-based side dish and veggies (my main course), for example, polenta, brown rice, barley, quinoa.
  • Tuesday – bean-based main course (sometimes with a meat version for the family).
  • Wednesday – pasta.
  • Thursday – meat main course for the family and grains and veggies for me (and them).
  • Friday – soup.
  • Saturday – Asian food: Chinese, Thai or Japanese.
So, now I’m trying to cobble together this week’s menu, which is complicated by the fact that Joey has a baseball game at 4:30, Maddy has soccer at 5:00 and  I picked up a yoga class tonight at 6:30. Hmmm. Something simple tonight that everyone can eat on their own, whenever they’re ready. Looks like soup for dinner tonight. 
Well, I couldn’t pass up Syrian food this week, so I made lubee with riz. That’s green beans in a tomato sauce (usually lubee b’lahm, with meat), and rice (Syrian rice with orzo or angel hair pasta in it). I’ll definitely post a recipe for that!  Tonight was a quickie dinner with yesterday’s leftover rice, and it was sunny and warm so I was in the garden until 7 pm. (My poor husband, he never gets to eat dinner until Wheel of Fortune is on!). 
So here’s the plan for this week:
  • Monday – lubee wa riz
  • Tuesday – black bean and rice burritos (with turkey for everyone else)
  • Wednesday – pasta with puttanesca sauce
  • Thursday – tandoori chicken for the family, with dal and curried cauliflower
  • Friday – addis soup (lentil soup) – this will be at the church for Joey and I, we will stay following Lamentations. I’ll post the Holy Week schedule tomorrow.
  • Saturday – whatever I can get my hands on. I’ll probably make a sandwich for Vini. The kids will probably fend. I tend not to eat much on this day. I’m cooking and baking for the Pascha potluck, following the liturgy, and the party I’ll have here on Sunday.
I was pouring a glass of wine for Vini tonight and I was thinking that I’m looking forward to the end of the fast! I’m not sure I miss specific foods so much, it’s just the restriction in general that gets tough at the end. The thought of eating or drinking whatever I feel like, whenever I want, sounds so good.  But I’m so glad I’m doing this. I always am.
I’m reminded of something Father Alban says about the last week of Lent, about how it’s a sprint. The sprint at the end of the race. We’ve been running for a long time now, and we are tired, but here we are, right before the end, and instead of slowing down, or stopping, we push on, even gaining speed as we reach out for the finish line.
About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Meals, Thoughts, Weekly Menus. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly menu for the week of April 17th through the 23rd

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

    ★★★★★

  2. Leila says:

    Thanks Kristin! And thanks for checking out the blog! Have an awesome day!!!

Leave a Reply

