What’s in the fridge? or “I’m hungry, what’s for lunch?

This is my favorite kind of lunch. It’s not just reheated leftovers. It’s made up of all sorts of leftovers, a little of this and a little of that, all thrown together. It’s really the best kind of lunch.

So I had

  • grilled zucchini, eggplant and red peppers
  • black rice
  • roasted chili/pepita sauce
  • marinated cucumbers
  • half an avocado
  • leftover salad with lemon and oil dressing

So I heated up the veggies and rice in the microwave, poured on the sauce and mixed the cukes and avocado with the salad. Et voila!

The tea, by the way, is genmaicha, which is green tea and roasted rice powder. If you’ve never tried it before, you should! It’s delicious!

I’d love to know what other people eat for lunch, especially you stay-at-home types. Soup and sandwich? Leftovers? Ice cream and cookies? What do you eat for lunch?

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

