I made the worst calzone ever yesterday – and it was delicious!

So we had calzones for dinner last night. They’re a nice alternative to pizza and it’s easy to give everyone what they want.  Vini had  hot Italian sausage, mushrooms, onions and kalamata olives. Joey had the same, minus the mushrooms and Maddy had the same minus the onions. Plus sauce and cheese, natch!

Of course, I had to come up with a Lenten filling for myself. Which is why I say I made the worst calzone ever yesterday. Because gosh darn it, it isn’t really a calzone without the cheese(!) at least, although the meat is awfully good in there too!

So I sat down with my calzone, which I had cut in half for ease of scarfing, and whaddya know, it was D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S (say it real slow in your head).

So here it is, and I’m including the dough recipe (in case you don’t have one of your own):

Dough:

  • 2-1/4 t. yeast
  • 1-1/2 warm water
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/4 c. olive oil

Basically, mix it all together on low speed on a stand mixer (or by hand, if you insist, or have no other choice). Knead it for 8 minutes at medium speed, or by hand until it is smoooooooth and e-l-a-s-t-i-c (guess I’m into dashes today (shrug)).

Let it rise, break it into 4 to 6 pieces – it’s up to you. Do you want giant calzones, or super gigantamous calzones?

Here’s the filling:

  • 2 T. chopped onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped fine
  • 1/2 c. broccolini heads (or broccoli heads), chopped roughly
  • 1/2 corn
  • 8-10 kalamata olives, chopped roughly (pits removed, of course)
  • salt
  • olive oil
  • marinara sauce or pizza sauce or whatever you want to call it

So that’s it. Saute all those things in the olive oil until they’re reasonably tender (I used frozen corn). Start with the broccolini, onion and garlic in the olive oil, salt lightly while you’re sauteing, then add the corn and kalamatas and saute a bit longer, then the marinara at the end.

Roll out the dough into a circle until its reasonably thin. Put the filling in the middle, fold the dough over it to make a half moon and crimp with the technique of your choice. I like to take the pinched edge and turn it up into little twists (sorry! I forgot to take a picture). Top it with a little olive oil. I just spill a little on it and swipe it all over with my fingers.

Bake it at 450 degrees fahrenheit (just wanted to see if I could spell that right. I could.) for 15-20 minutes. Check it out once in a while, when it’s basically light brown and looks crispy, it’s done.

LET IT COOL before you bite into it. The filling will be SUPER DUPER hot. And delicious!

 

About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Meals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

