Weekly menu for the week of April 3rd – 9th

So we’re starting off right off the bat with one of my cheats. Every time I’ve ever fasted, and it’s actually been quite a few years now, I have always had a few days when I’ve broken the fast and eaten red meat. This is because I become anemic. I start getting really run down, sleepy all the time, I can’t concentrate, etc. Anyway, I try to be very practical about this and simply eat some red meat for three or four meals. So, Sunday supper was non-fasting.  Here it is folks:

  • Sunday – Lahm Mishwe (shish kabob made with lamb leg steak, tomato and onion), rolled grape leaves (with rice and ground lamb filling), roasted cauliflower and hommous, plus salad and Syrian bread.
  • Monday – baked chicken with leftover rolled grape leaves (for Vini and Joey and Maddy), tostadas with rice and beans and avocado and tomato for me.
  • Tuesday – barley salad with veggies and tuna (for the family)
  • Wednesday – pasta with clam sauce fer cryin’ out loud!
  • Thursday – corn and broccoli calzone, regular pizza calzone for the family
  • Friday – tom yum with tofu (Thai coconut soup, with soy sauce, not fish sauce)
  • Saturday – yakisoba stir fry

Sunday’s dinner is typical of a non-fasting Syrian supper that I might serve for a Sunday Supper, or on a night when I have lots of time to cook. You could easily make it vegan by making veggie kabobs (use zucchini, eggplant, mushrooms, onions and tomatoes), and make the rolled grape leaves without the lamb. The tostadas were purely leftovers, it just all came together. For tomorrow’s salad, I’ll make a composed salad, with a bed of greens dressed in lemon and oil, the barley mixed with corn and diced tomato,  a tuna salad made with mayo, lemon, olives, capers and onions, and quartered hard boiled eggs for the family. For the pasta sauce, I use olive oil and lots of garlic and parsley, plus dried flaked red pepper. I put cheese on the table and so the pasta is completely vegan as it’s made.

I’ll post more detailed recipes this week – it’s already 9:30 and my gosh, my days are busy lately!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Meals, Weekly Menus. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly menu for the week of April 3rd – 9th

  1. goblinbox says:

    It may not be that you become anemic so much as you increase your intake of refined carbohydrates. Less meat means more bread and noodles, perhaps? Such foods screw with your insulin and thereby wonk out your metabolism.

    Anecdotally, I haven’t eaten meat in twenty years, and I’m not anemic! 🙂

  2. Leila says:

    well…I have been anemic most of my life (probably all of my life, but I only found out when I was a teenager). However, I really don’t increase my intake of refined carbs. I always eat pasta once a week, fasting or no, and I have actually increased my intake of complex carbs since I have been baking my own bread. More whole wheat, less white flour. Mostly what I have increased in my diet is barley, quinoa and brown rice. However, having said all that, I am not entirely convinced that it’s not all in my head. Oh, hey, I just realized that the giant vegan chocolate chip cookies might be screwing with my insulin!

  3. goblinbox says:

    Ah, I didn’t know that you tended toward anemia. That’s a whole ‘nother situation right there, mang. 🙂

  4. Leila says:

    yeah, ya know. mostly I’m fine, I just eat a small amount of red meat on a regular basis, plus lots of spinach and I take molasses when I droop (especially if I’m fasting). But I could never tolerate iron pills. When I want to donate blood, I have to ramp up my red meat/spinach intake for several days, or I don’t pass the little drop of blood crit test.

Leave a Reply

