Miso Soup for Lunch

Miso Soup with Tofu and Veggies

Directions

put water and kombu in saucepan. turn on heat and let water come to a simmer. let it simmer a few minutes, then remove the kombu. Let it dry and you can use it again. Add the soy sauce and mirin and stir. Add the tofu and let simmer. You can let it simmer a little or a lot. It’s up to you. Add the vegetables and let them sit on top for a few minutes. Stir them in, then add the miso, which you’ve mixed with some water to a slurry. DO NOT LET THE MISO BOIL! Put it into a bowl and enjoy!

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/recipes/leilas-miso-soup-tofu-veggies/#ixzz1HOW7rYJU

Generally speaking, after the kombu comes to a simmer and is removed, you would then add bonito flakes and let them sink to the bottom of the pot. Then you would strain the broth and add the soy sauce and mirin.  This is dashi. It is the basis for many Japanese soups and sauces. But, Easter Lent means no fish. No fish means no bonito flakes (bonito = fish). So. Kombu, soy sauce and mirin. It works. Especially when you add miso, but even without. Now instead of any of the veggies above, you could use any of the veggies below:

  • bamboo shoots (if you go to an Asian Market, you can find fresh packed bamboo shoots vacuum packed in the tofu section, or even better, in season, actual FRESH bamboo shoots. Yum!)
  • water chestnuts (if you find fresh ones, they need to be peeled, but man oh man, are they worth it!)
  • any kind of mushroom you like (I don’t like. Mushrooms that is, but you might).
  • baby bok choy
  • spinach
  • thinly sliced carrot
  • radish sprouts (so super delicious).

Also, non-veggies that are great in this soup include (but are in no way limited to):

  • buckwheat soba noodles
  • udon noodles
  • mochi cake (chewy, gooey, and smooshy).
  • puffy gluten balls (this is too strange to explain, but there’s a picture below).
  • also, little doughy flowers (see above, and below).

I have lots of pictures, but here’s the little puffy balls and doughy flowers:

Here’s the soup making:

veggies                                                              kombu

tofu in veggie dashi                                           veggies sitting on top

miso slurry                                                         time to eat!

About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Meals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Miso Soup for Lunch

  1. goblinbox says:

    Yay, miso!

    I almost never use bonito because it adds a step that, IMO, doesn’t help the flavor in any serious way. (When I make “instant miso” balls for bento lunches, I usually just roll up a ball of miso and stick a wee bit of a bullion cube in the middle. When reconstituted with hot water in the office, it’s perfectly delicious.)

    Also like to use frozen-and-then-thawed tofu because I really prefer the texture, even though silken is usually served in Japanese restaurants’ miso soup.

    • Leila says:

      I actually usually use the bonito, I like the smoky, fishy undertone. But then I often use the dashi without miso. However, I really like the miso with just the kombu, soy sauce and mirin. And it is much faster! I never thought of making “instant miso balls,” what a great idea! I’ve never tried freezing tofu. I’ve heard it changes the texture. I love silken tofu, and I love fresh firm tofu as well. Vini goes to Ota Tofu where he buys fresh tofu made that day! the texture and flavor are sublime!

      • goblinbox says:

        I learned the ‘instant miso soup balls’ idea from a bento site. It’s a great way to add something hot to one’s bento, since offices are generally air conditioned to within an inch of their lives, it’s nice to be able to have a mug of miso at one’s morning break!

  2. Leila says:

    I concur, although I (thankfully) haven’t worked in an office in ages and ages. Amen. Yes. Freezing in the summer. Nothing could be worse! Mug of miso is always nice. I’m going to do this the next time I go camping. Another time I really enjoy miso.

Leave a Reply

