The tricky part of Lent is not getting drunk on the weekends!

So, as you may recall, the Fast is lightened on the weekends to allow wine (and other spirits!). This presents a bit of a challenge for me, sobriety-wise.  Of course, we should be practicing moderation during Lent, and the lightening of the Fast is no good reason to get soused. And herein lies my problem. Once upon a time, I could hold my liquor. I could drink all night and get up and drag my sorry . . . well, you get the picture. But of course, (like many people), I got married, had a couple of kids, and well, it became fairly inconvenient to drink the night away. So I became a moderate drinker, and I have to say, each pregnancy decreased my tolerance for drink a little bit more.

Fast forward to now. I drink, generally, a glass of wine with dinner. Not a gigantic glass, filled to the brim, but actually, 6 ounces of wine (I measured it one day). Red with meat, white with chicken and fish. Very sensible, very moderate (My son, Joey, will tell you that I love “moderate” things. He’s right, I do.), very healthy. Occasionally, maybe once or twice a week, I will also have a cocktail (I’ll take Manhattan!), but that’s it, really. If I have a cocktail and two glasses of wine with dinner, forget about it. Definitely tipsy. Giggling. Goofy.

So. What happens during Lent, when I completely abstain from drinking five days a week, then have a glass of wine or a cocktail on the weekends. One glass. Tipsy. Giggling. Goofy. Last night I had one glass of wine. Then I had Kahlua with coconut milk (not bad, actually). I fell asleep (passed out?) at 10:30. I usually stay up until midnight.

I figure, two, three years, five tops, and I won’t be able to drink at all! It’s bumming me out, but there it is. On top of it all, moderation aside, what I really want to do on the weekends during Lent, is make up for lost time! I want wine with lunch. And a cocktail with appetizers! And another glass of wine with dinner! And an after-dinner drink!

So what does Lent teach me? Despite my apparent LOVE of all things “moderate,” I am perhaps more fond of the concept of moderation, rather than the actual practice of it. Or maybe it’s that I like to think of myself as being moderate, more than I actually am.

“Lord, help me choose to do what’s best for me. Help me build my self-discipline. And help me be honest with myself. Oh, and thanks for lightening the Fast on the weekends!”


About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

