Recipes

This one comes straight from Khouria Krista, My priest’s wife (Khouri is priest in Arabic, Khouria is his wife).

“Great recipe I got from the St. Mary of Egypt camp cook last year:
Ethiopian Cabbage and Potatoes

  • Roast potatoes (my favorite is 500 deg, toss with a little olive oil, about 30-35 min.)
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 8 carrots, sliced
  • 1 head cabbage, chopped/sliced
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. black pepper
  • 1/2 t. turmeric
  • 1 cup oil (you can back this off to about 2/3 cup if you want)

Saute onions and carrots in oil for about 10 minutes, until beginning to brown.  Add spices (and some salt) and cabbage.  Continue to saute for another 25-30 minutes until everything is lovely and wilty.
Serve with the potatoes, either on top or by the side.
Enjoy!

Here’s my recipe for tahini sauce:

Tahini Sauce

  • 1/2 c. tahini
  • 1 clove garlic
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 water
  • 1/4 c. cilantro, coarsely chopped
  • salt to taste

I put everything into my magic bullet (stir the tahini in the jar REALLY GOOD before you measure it out!). Anyway, everything plus 1/2 the water into the blender and blend until pureed. Then, gradually add more water to make saucy. I HAVE TO say “salt to taste,” because it really is an individual thing. Just add it gradually, adjusting the salt and lemon until you get the right zing! It’s ok to start out with a fairly loose sauce, as it thickens while it sits. A really good idea is to make the sauce first thing, then let it sit in the fridge to thicken and meld the flavors while you make whatever else you want to eat. The classic recipe calls for kuzbira (coriander) which is the seed of the plant, cilantro being the fresh leaf.  I have easy access to cilantro, so I use it instead. Of course, this tastes GREAT! on falafel, but also, I use it many other ways.

Above, I used it to top fried cauliflower. Break the cauliflower into small florets, put into really hot oil (I use about 2 inches in my cast iron skillet on medium high). Fry, turning occasionally, until lightly brown. It changes the flavor of cauliflower and makes it even tastier than it already is. Top with tahini! Those are roasted beets next to the cauliflower, and that brings us to the barley salad:

Barley Salad

  • 2 cups barley
  • 2 green onions
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 bunch of grapes
  • 1 inch knob of ginger
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 T. rice wine vinegar
  • salt and cracked black pepper to taste

Boil the barley until it’s tender (but please stop before it’s mushy! Start checking after 25 min. or so), make sure you cover it with LOTS of water (it will absorb A LOT!). Anyway, drain it and rinse in cold water. (If you’re not eating it right away, and you don’t want to rinse it, just drain it and put it in the fridge to cool.

Meanwhile, slice the green onions thinly (white and green parts too!), dice the celery and slice the grapes in half. Finely mince the ginger and mix it with the lime juice, oil and vinegar. Now, toss it all together and mix it up really well. Salt and pepper to taste. If you don’t have grapes, you can use raisins or currants. You can add or subtract any veggies of your choice, and this works well with brown rice (my sister-in-law, Cathy, gave me this recipe, made with brown rice). The ginger, lime,  and rice vinegar is fairly non-negotiable as they make salad taste the way it was meant to. Oops, ended on a preposition.

 

About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipes

  1. goblinbox says:

    A couple of years ago when I was in NYC I went to an Egyptian restaurant for falafel and they did this utterly amazing thing: they put a giant bottle of tahini sauce right on my table next to the ketchup! It was a revelation to me, as I’d always had it served in those little sauce cups before. I realized that I could make a big batch of it and keep it in the fridge. Which is what I do now, because it’s DELICIOUS ON PRETTY MUCH EVERYTHING YOU’D EVER WANT TO EAT, EVER. Sure, it goes flat if you let it get old enough, but I don’t let it get old enough. 😉

  2. Leila says:

    yeah, it’s true. I gave a recipe for a small amount, but the best thing is to make enough to pull out for a few days whenever you feel like it and toss on something to make it extra yummy! I forgot to mention that I tossed it with lettuce, spinach, endive and green onions to make salad. I added a tablespoon of Ponzu which was utterly perfect. Tahini-Ponzu salad dressing!

Leave a Reply

