Weekly menu for the week of March 13th-March19th

Well, just like last week, things have already changed! Today is the Sunday of Orthodoxy, there’s an explanation with historical background on the following website:

http://lent.goarch.org/sunday_of_orthodoxy/learn/

But, here’s the short version: For a while, way back when, Christians were not allowed to possess icons. In the Orthodox church, icons of Christ and the Virgin Mary and the Saints are venerated. Not worshipped, but venerated – there’s a difference.  Which I will talk about in another blog. In any case, on the Sunday of Orthodoxy, we celebrate the time when icons were once again allowed and so, all the Orthodox churches in Portland get together at the Greek Church, Holy Trinity, and have the service together. At the end, there’s a procession around the church with icons. After the service, there happened to be a luncheon, and the kids and I stayed for lunch. And my husband had a gig in the afternoon, into the evening, and was fed at said gig. So. I didn’t need to make a big, fancy Sunday supper tonight. So I made quesadillas for the kids with cheddar cheese and the leftover pot roast. I stuffed my quesadilla with roasted veggies, brown rice and pumpkin chili oil. And, since we lighten the Fast on Sunday, I enjoyed a glass of red wine with my dinner! Here’s the rest of this week’s menu:

Monday – chicken wings with beets and barley salad

Tuesday – chili/veggie chili with brown rice

Wednesday – pasta with pesto

Thursday – salmon with cabbage and brown rice, and fried cauliflower with tahini sauce

Friday – sweet potato soup

Saturday – miso soup with soba and tofu

shopping list

  • chicken wings
  • ground beef
  • salmon
  • soba, tofu

list for Vini

  • beets
  • green onions
  • basil
  • cabbage
  • cauliflower
  • sweet potatoes
  • mung beans
  • cilantro
  • milk (the kids are out of milk)

I should probably mention that my husband, Peter (Vini), works for a restaurant supply company, and so can bring home fresh fruits and veggies.  Pretty cool, huh?

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Meals, Weekly Menus and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

