These are the things that happened to me since yesterday.

Here are some of the things that happened to me since yesterday. Some of them are not so great, but most of them are awesome.

1. My friend brought over some address tiles she made for me.

Luciana is a dancer and yoga instructor and she does ceramics and glasswork and paints! Aren’t they pretty!?! I still have to hang them, but I can do that tomorrow.

2. I put my new cabinet in place.

My friend Lesley’s husband made this for me.  He is a very talented contractor.  I had a plastic bin from K-Mart here for a long time. The wood is beautiful and he made the bottom cabinet large enough to hold all my pans.  Even my big pizza pan! Thanks Mikey!

3. I had a delicious breakfast.

This is polenta with vanilla, blueberries and strawberries. The little bowl has honeydew and grapes.

4. My girlfriend brought me some vegan desserts.

Don’t these look awesome?  Everyone knows I have a sweet tooth. I told Lesley how much I miss dessert when I’m fasting.  She showed up today with these! I have the most awesome friends ever!

5. The sun came out today.

It took me three times to get these pictures.  The first time, the clouds covered the sun before I could snap the picture. The second time the sun came out, I didn’t even get out of my chair fast enough. Third times a charm.

6. My seedlings are coming up.

I’ll have fresh lettuce and arugula in April!

7. My sourdough is so active it bubbled over last night and my bread came out terrific.

Those are all the awesome things. Here are two things I didn’t like:

1. paperwork

I HATE PAPERWORK. I did the stuff on the desk (mostly). I still have to deal with all the stuff in the drawer (and on the floor). Which brings us to why the papers are on the floor.  I was looking for the receipt from the guy who fixed our dishwasher.  And so we come to the second not great thing that happened to me today:

2. Our washer is broken. Irretrievably broken. Blah! (no picture – everyone knows what a washing machine looks like).

So mostly I feel grateful, and I gave you the list to try to explain why I’m not particularly upset about the washer. Now don’t get me wrong. It’s $500-$800 that we don’t actually have. But still. Look at all the great things that happened to me since yesterday.

“Thank you Lord, for all the beautiful parts of my day.”

 

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

