I Like Savory Things For Breakfast

One of the challenges I have during Lent, is figuring out what to do about breakfast. When I’m not fasting, breakfast is generally one of two things for me – a scrambled egg with toast and cream cheese or butter, fruit and coffee, or what I call a Syrian breakfast, generally, labne (yogurt cheese), olives, and za’atar, with Syrian bread to eat it with.  Sometimes I add an egg, or put out some batinjan makdous (little eggplants stuffed with garlic, walnuts and hot chili and preserved in oil) or fruit preserves.  In the summer I will often cut up some tomato and cucumber. When I have a “Syrian breakfast,” I drink my coffee first, all by itself, then, have tea with my breakfast. Once in a while, I’ll have a smoothie or a bowl of granola with yogurt and fruit (mostly in the summer, when I come in from the garden in the morning with fresh berries). Ah, I just envisioned myself a couple of months from now, coming in from the garden in the morning, with bare feet, in a skirt and tank top, with a bowl of strawberries, blueberries, currants and raspberries in my hand. YES, YES, summer is coming!!!!!!!

Anyway, no eggs, cheese or yogurt seriously alters my breakfast routine.  I will eat oatmeal, but generally speaking, I prefer oatmeal, granola or other cereals in the afternoon as a snack.  I find that they don’t really tide me over until lunch when I eat them in the morning.  Also, for some reason, peanut butter and jelly don’t satisfy my hunger either, definitely more of a snack than a meal for me. So here’s what I ate this morning – whole grain toast with the mashed potato/corn pancake I made yesterday for the tacos, mixed with some sun dried tomatoes.  It was yummy, and almost like toast with cream cheese. 

Here are some other savory choices:

  • miso soup with tofu and greens
  • rice and bean burrito
  • hummous on toast
  • Syrian breakfast with za’atar, batinjan makdous, and preserved figs with bread
  • potato hash with chopped veggies (beets, cauliflower and zucchini are all good).
  • buraghal – bulgar wheat with garbanzo beans (this is usually a dinner, but I like it for breakfast)
  • imjudra (rice with lentils, also usually for dinner, but hey, so what?)

That’s all I can think of for now. I’ll let you know if I come up with anything else.  The main thing in my house is that no one but me likes leftovers.  I, on the other hand, rely on leftovers for breakfast and lunch everyday, so what I eat depends on what’s in the fridge. I like my “standard” breakfasts, because I always have the ingredients on hand and it takes no real thought to figure it out.  During Lent, I have to think about it a little bit more, but hey, I’ve never starved yet!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Meals, Recipes, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Like Savory Things For Breakfast

  1. Lesley says:

    And I doubt you will ever starve! You’re inspiring me with savory toast options (not such a big fan of sweets in the a.m. unless it’s divine carmel cake) . I don’t always want eggs or cereal, which is typically what goes on in 0ur house. I too, get creative with leftovers and stir fry isn’t so bad first thing in the morning!

    • Leila says:

      “Oh, I sincerely doubt it,” she says after chowing down on veggies braised in marinara sauce over polenta with a spinach and endive salad and homemade focaccia. Yeah, not starving anytime soon! But hey, what can I say, I was super hungry after this evenings super fun activities with you-know-who.

  2. goblinbox says:

    Miso is a fantastic breakfast choice; I enjoy it pretty much whenever I get tired of eggs.

    • Leila says:

      You know, my sister-in-law, Cathy, told my mother-in-law to start drinking miso in the morning, when she was trying to recover from a long illness. She drank it every morning for a really long time. Despite the fact that her only pastimes the last three years of her life, were smoking, bingo, smoking, solitaire, sleeping, smoking and smoking, she lived to be 87! I give the miso some credit for that.

      • goblinbox says:

        It’s kind of magic, really. It’s warming in the winter, but light in the summer, has a nice wallop of protein for a broth soup, can be garnished with pretty much anything you have on hand, stores forever, is inexpensive, etc. It’s fantastic stuff. I’m very pro-miso.

  3. Leila says:

    Me too! There’s ALWAYS miso in the house. Usually brown and white, but sometimes red or yellow. Also, I like the more homespun, rougher miso too! You can drop in just about anything, or drink it plain like tea. Have you ever put in those little puffy gluten balls? Or the little flower shaped dough pieces with the green and pink middles? Genius!

Leave a Reply

