Weekly menus and my first changes.

Each week I will post my menu plan and discuss shopping, organizing of meals, alterations, and any other tips I think might be helpful to others working with meal planning.

For the Week of March 6th through the 12th:

Sunday – I had planned to make halibut for my husband and kids, and serve it with a Syrian dish called “Imshubishlee.”  But we ate at Guiseppe’s and I had pasta with clam sauce.  So I moved it to Thursday, mmmm, yum, imshubishlee! Please assume that each night I also serve salad and bread.

Monday –  o.k. It’s Monday night and here’s what happened.  A good friend of ours, Yvette, was having a little going away party and so we went down to Produce Row Cafe (a great little joint on S.E. Oak).  So we hung out and ate dinner down there because there were so many great friends to visit with.  But Justin (the chef) is THE MAN! And he had a great Lenten meal for me right there on the menu:

  • Hummous, falafel (homemade!), kalamata olives, cucumbers, pepperoncini, red onion, tomatoes and pita bread, (also feta cheese, but I didn’t eat that, of course).

So, does Monday night’s menu move to Tuesday? Well, actually . . . no.  See, here’s the thing –  I have the opportunity to go to a Zumba and m.e.l.t. class Wednesday night at 6:30 p.m. with my dear friend, Lesley. And I thought, pasta is tricky because it really needs to be tossed and then served immediately.  Braised beef, veggies and polenta on the other hand, can be prepared early in the day and kept warm, so Peter and the kids can eat at dinnertime and I can eat when I get home.  So here’s the plan – I’ll serve the pasta Tuesday and the beef, veggies and polenta on Wednesday. And as far as I know, we’re good to go the rest of the week. For now!

Tuesday  – pasta aglio e olio (instead of the beef, veggies and polenta)

Wednesday – Braised beef (for the family),  roasted veggies (onion, fennel, carrot and celery) and polenta (instead of the pasta)

Thursday – roast chicken (for the family), imshubishlee

Friday – carrot ginger soup

Saturday – tofu w/asparagus in black bean sauce

So to begin with, it’s Monday and the menu plans got altered Sunday and Monday. You can see the original plan on my Weekly Menus page. Basically, we’re 0 for 2 in the planning department. But 2 for 2 in terms of eating yummy, healthy food! So, all in all, I’d say the Lenten fast is off to a great start!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Meals, Weekly Menus. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly menus and my first changes.

  1. goblinbox says:

    I’m-a be needin’ that falafel recipe, then.

    • Leila says:

      I’ll see if I can wrangle it out of him. If not, I could ask for my friend Dyanna’s recipe, or Majdolin’s. The cool thing about Justin’s amazing falafel recipe is that it came from a white boy!

  2. goblinbox says:

    The recipe. Whereisitalready.

  3. Leila says:

    Oh yeah, the recipe. I’ll call Justin and see if I can’t worm it out of him. Just had some more of that yummy falafel on Sunday. Mmmm mmm good.

Leave a Reply

