Here’s a quickie – yummy afternoon pick-me-up oatmeal

Banana Nut Oatmeal
  • 1 c. oatmeal (not instant)
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 c. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 T. brown sugar
  • 2 T. raisins
  • 1 T. sunflower seeds
  • 1 T. pecans
  • 2 t. sesame seeds
  • ½ banana, sliced

Mix everything in a pot (a small one).  Bring to a low boil.  Let simmer until the liquid is absorbed, the banana breaks down somewhat and the nuts, seeds and raisins swell and soften. It is SO delicious.

Finally:

Nutrition Facts

  • Serving Size: 1 cup
  • Calories 340
  • Total Fat 8.7g
  • Saturated Fat 1.21g
  • Cholesterol 0mg
  • Sodium 97.67mg
  • Total Carbohydrate 65.37g
  • Dietary Fiber 6.03g
  • Sugars 6.4g
  • Protein 7.51g

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/recipes/leilas-oatmeal/#ixzz1Fxwqta5x

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

