God always has such good ideas.

I’m probably (you never know) never gonna be a vegan.  I LOVE meat. Especially lamb. Slow roasted, falling off the bone or studded with a gazillion cloves of garlic and rosemary (or better yet, oregano and mint!) and dry roasted pink and rare and sliced thin. (My mouth is watering!)

But here’s the thing.  Moderation is such a good thing.  And taking a break from super yummy food to focus on sacrifice and prayer and self-discipine is a really good thing.  The point of the fast is emphatically NOT to lose weight.  This isn’t a diet. Nonetheless, like almost every other woman in America, I’d love to say, “even so, I lost five pounds the last time I fasted for Lent.” Sadly, (but truly!), I have NEVER, EVER lost any weight at all during the fast. But that’s ok. Because it really ISN’T the point.  On the other hand, lots of other healthy things happen when I fast. For instance, I eat a really healthy, well balanced diet.  Even though I do eat meat and dairy products and I like sweets and wine, I practice moderation as a habit.  But I still have a hard time meeting my dietary goals – particularly when it comes to getting enough fiber in my diet.  And yet here, on the first day of the fast, I ate a whopping 38 grams of fiber! Should I worry about getting enough protein? Nope, not a problem – I clocked in at 46 grams.

The fast is a practice designed for our spiritual health, but as seems so often to be the case, God just blesses us and blesses us.  Good for the spirit, no doubt, but also good for the body?  Absolutely!  And it’s a reminder to me that when we follow a path that God lays out for us, the benefits are many.  God really does have such good ideas!

Thank you Lord!

About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God always has such good ideas.

  1. goblinbox says:

    YOU STARTED A BLOG! I’m quite pleased.

    And yes, it can be pretty neat how that whole thing happens. Do something good, get something good you didn’t expect back out of it!

    • Leila says:

      yep. It feels really good. And even though I’ve only had a few comments and e-mails from my friends saying they like it, I expect that exchange of ideas to start happening soon, which I’m really excited about. And in the meantime, it’s like my blog is a box where I can put all my thoughts. All day long, talking to myself, a one-sided conversation of ideas tumbling out of my mind and now there’s somewhere for all of it to go. And at some point, maybe the monologue becomes a dialogue. Yay! Internet, I love you!

      • goblinbox says:

        I won’t point out that I’ve been blogging for ten years here, because then you’ll (correctly) understand how much self-talk is really going on up in here. 😉

  2. Leila says:

    And we try so hard to quiet the mind. OK, OK, I admit it. I’m abysmally bad at quieting my mind. I am however, pretty good at letting all my thoughts float by like puffy little clouds! Or little puffy clouds. I can’t decide which.

  3. goblinbox says:

    Apparently, there is no quieting the mind; only moving away from it and not identifying with it. It will chatter; that’s what it does. Expecting it to be quiet is like expecting scissors to be slippers.

  4. Leila says:

    You mean scissors aren’t slippers? I’ll try to keep that in mind! I’ve heard two yoga teachers at two separate locations call it “monkey mind,” which isn’t a new term, but I hadn’t heard it in a while. Now I feel like a monkey.

Leave a Reply

