Why am I blogging about Lent? aka “Leila’s Lenten Season”

Why AM I blogging about Lent? (should “lent” be capitalized? I’m not sure, but I always think about it with a capital “L”).  Anyway, here’s why: the other day I sat down to eat lunch.

Lent officially begins on Monday, March 7 (this year) with the full abstention of all prohibited foods. But this week, beginning last Monday, February 28, is what we call Cheesefare Week.  It is basically a way for us to ease into the Lenten fast.  It’s a bit of time for us to wrap our heads around it, if you will.

I’m all for this – I think that moving gently and thoughtfully into drastic change is always a good idea. I am definitely the person who is getting into the swimming pool one step at a time.  And then, when someone says, “let’s just dunk ourselves in all at once,” I’m the person who counts to three four or five times before actually dunking myself into the water.

But I digress.  Cheesefare week is the week we abstain from meat ONLY.  All other prohibited foods are allowed.  So anyway, there I was, looking down at the lunch I had prepared for myself:

  • grilled cheese sandwich on Russian rye (with really yummy Cougar Gold cheese)
  • Pacific Foods creamy tomato soup
  • black bean and corn salad (homemade by me, with Eden Foods canned black beans – no bpa in the lining of the can)
  • homemade applesauce (yum, yum!)

and I thought to myself, “what a really loving lunch!”  I just felt so nourished and cared for by myself, and I credited Lent, because one of the major benefits of Lent is that I really become conscious of what I put into my body.  I wanted to take a picture of this really beautiful meal and (of course) my first thought was that I should post it on Facebook.  But I’m always posting pictures of yummy food on Facebook, and this was something more to me.  I realized that I wanted to TALK about why this meal felt so important to me.

That’s when I had the idea for the blog. You see, my friend, Luis, is always saying that I should start a blog.  But he says this because of my angry political rants.  And I thought, as I gazed down at my lovely, loving lunch, “does the world really NEED another angry political ranting blog?”  Probably not.  Although, that’s not to say that I won’t start one in the future – you just never know about these things. That’s when I realized that I would like to blog about Lent.

There are so many aspects to Lent, I have so many thoughts about Lent and it is just a really special time in the year for me.  So, I want to blog about Lent for the following reasons:

  • I want to talk about the history and practice of Lent
  • I want to share my thoughts and prayers during Lent
  • I want to share my triumphs and tribulations in Lent
  • I want to share my meals and recipes for Lent

I know a lot of people who practice Lent, and maybe they are interested in my experience.  I am interested in theirs.  And maybe some people would like to add variety to their Lenten menu.  Maybe they’ll share their recipes with me.

Lent is a spiritual practice, and as such, it is a private, individual endeavor.  But that doesn’t mean we can’t share our journey with each other.  So, there it all is.  Let me know what you think.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why am I blogging about Lent? aka “Leila’s Lenten Season”

  1. jeanette says:

    Yeah….so excited to read your blog! This will be a great reminder to me about the meaning of lent and what happens to everyone when sacrifices are made. Go leila, go leila!!!!

  2. Erin says:

    I love your blog and am learning so much! You are a beautiful person and a wonderful cook. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

